NFL Pro Bowl Players Named

By Colin Ball

The fans have voted and the NFL Pro Bowl roster selections are in. On January 27th, 2013 the AFC’s top players will take on the NFC’s top players in Hawaii.

Peyton Manning and Adrian Peterson were two players I was most excited to see get an invite. I am sure both of them have their minds on a bigger prize(THE SUPER BOWL) but this award has to feel good after their unfortunate season’s last year due to injury. 

Peyton will be accompanied by four of his own teammates including DE Elvis Dumervil, LB Von Miller, CB Champ Bailey, and OT Ryan Clady.

Out of the three top rookie quarterbacks this year: Robert Griffin III, Russell Wilson, and Andrew Luck, Griffin was the only one to receive the invite to Honolulu. It makes you wonder if this is a sign that RGIII is the leader for the Rookie of the Year. However, I don’t think Luck and Wilson are too upset because both of their teams making it to the playoffs.

The San Francisco 49ers led the league with 9 players selected– most of which came from their outstanding defense that ranks second in the NFL. The Houston Texans came in second with eight players selected. They contrasted the 49ers with mostly offense players making the roster.

I was very surprised to see the Kansas City Chiefs are sending 5 players to Honolulu this year after quite a disappointing 2-13 record. I think this goes to show that the Chiefs have the talent, but for some reason could not pull it together this year. Maybe coaching? Maybe not? Either way, the Chief fans now have something positive to look forward to.

Some other popular names that received an invitation were the Detroit Lions WR Calvin Johnson, Atlanta Falcons TE Tony Gonzalez, New York Giants WR Victor Cruz, and one of my favorite players Baltimore Ravens RB Ray Rice.

If you want to see the full Pro Bowl Roster, go here.

No Comments Yet.

Leave a comment

You must be Logged in to post a comment.